HQTS Quality Control

EU Updates Classification Guidance for Toys Intended for Children Under 3 Years of Age

Childrens Products HQTS

On 1 February 2023, the European Commission (EU) and the Expert Group on Toy Safety announced new guidelines for classifying toys for children under three years of age. This move aims to provide a more uniform interpretation of the EU’s toy safety requirements.

The original classification for toys aimed at young children was established in 2009 and included only three categories: jigsaw puzzles, dolls, and soft and stuffed toys. However, with the introduction of numerous new toys in recent years, there have been cases of disputes between manufacturers and authorities due to different opinions between EU member states on the correct age classification.

To address this issue, Guidance document No. 11 has been revised, and the updated version, Guidance document No. 112, now covers a total of 15 toy categories for children under 36 months of age. The new changes are expected to ensure greater consistency in classifying toys throughout the EU.

The list of the 15 product categories includes:

  1. Puzzles
  2. Dolls
  3. Soft and Stuffed/Or Partially Stuffed Toys
  4. Fidget Toys
  5. Modelling Clay/Dough, Slime and Soap Bubbles
  6. Movable/Wheeled Toys
  7. Play Scenes/Constructed Models and Construction Toys
  8. Game Sets and Board Games
  9. Toys Intended to be Entered
  10. Toys Intended to Bear the Mass of a Child
  11. Toy Sports Equipment and Balls
  12. Hobby Horse/Stick Horse
  13. Push-Pull Toys and Pull-along Toys
  14. Audio/Visual Equipment
  15. Toy Figures and Other Toys


Read the full guidance document here.

Will this impact your business? Contact our dedicated experts in HQTS at inquiry@hqts.com to learn more!

Need More Information?


    * Required fields

    Share on facebook
    Share on twitter
    Share on linkedin

    Latest Articles